Carry a Concealed Weapon Licensing - CCW
Attention New and Renewal Applicants
LASD is now accepting CCW initial and renewal applications online! Please note, if you are a first-time applicant, you must reside within our contract cities or unincorporated communities.
Read the information below to apply:
DO NOT REAPPLY online if you have already submitted an application with us, live within our jurisdiction and are awaiting an interview. This will cause for you to lose your current place and restart your time frame. In addition, those applicants will pay the old fee of $120 upon approval and issuance of their CCW license.
The new fees will apply to persons who submitted their application on or after May 4, 2023.
The issuance of licenses enabling a private citizen to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) is of great concern to the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department. In accordance with California Penal Code 26150 et. Seq., and subject to Department policy and procedures, any Los Angeles County resident may be issued a CCW from the Sheriff, if qualified.
Please note that although Penal Code Section 26155 currently contains a requirement that an applicant demonstrate that “good cause” exists for the issuance of a CCW license, the U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling in New York State Rifle & Pistol Association v. Bruen held that New York’s similar “proper cause” requirement was unconstitutional. Therefore, pursuant to Bruen, the Department will not enforce the “good cause” requirement and will not require an applicant to demonstrate “good cause” to qualify for a CCW license. Please note this change is reflected on the DOJ application which was revised in August of 2022 (BOF 4012).
As the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department evaluates any amendments to California’s CCW statutes, any revisions to the Department’s policies and procedures will be updated on our website.
The Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department does not approve or endorse any private companies that offer “Streamlining Services” to assist CCW applicants with the application process.
The CCW policy is currently under review, and will be available when updated.
Please review the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department’s Requirements and Qualifications for a CCW BEFORE you start your CCW application.
Effective May 4, 2023
Pursuant to Los Angeles County Ordinance 2.34.190 , the total initial CCW license application fee will be $216. The non-refundable initial fee paid upon submission of the application will be $43. The remaining balance of $173 will be collected only upon issuance of an approved CCW license.
Effective August 1, 2022
The LASD will only accept first-time CCW applications from those who reside within our contract cities or unincorporated communities. Applicants residing in a municipality other than those served by the LASD shall contact their local police department and apply for a CCW license.
All first-time CCW applications submitted, received, or postmarked before the indicated date; the LASD will accept and continue to process.
**ATTENTION CCW APPLICANTS**
Submitted a DOJ Application for a CCW,
Reside within our contract cities or unincorporated communities,
Reside outside Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department’s jurisdiction within Los Angeles County,
Submitted a DOJ Application for a CCW PRIOR to August 1, 2022,
It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure the live scan operator inputs all information correctly:
Applicant title: Concealed Weapon License
Application type: Standard CCW
Mail code: 11994
Applicant Information Section – to be filled out in full.
Failure to verify the above information will result in having to complete a secondary live scan, pay additional fees, and delay the application process. ONLY use the below application:
Each applicant must:
- Be of good moral character.
- Be a minimum of 21 years old.
- Own a firearm, registered to the applicant, in California.
- Resides within Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department contract cities or unincorporated communities.
- Failure to meet all qualifications at the time of application submission will result in your application being withdrawn.
As part of your background check, you will need to complete a live scan. This step is not required prior to submitting your application, but it is highly recommended if you meet the above criteria. To find your nearest live scan location refer to the Department of Justice website.
It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure the live scan operator inputs all information correctly.
- Applicant title: Concealed Weapon License
- Application type: Standard CCW
- Mail code: 11994
- Applicant Information Section – to be filled out in full
Failure to verify the above information will result in having to complete a secondary live scan, pay additional fees, and delays the application process. ONLY use the below application:
Only the following documents are required and shall be submitted at the time of your application. You will not be allowed to complete your online application without these documents.
- Valid California Driver’s License or California ID Card (an ID card will only be accepted if you do not possess a driver’s license from another state).
- Original U.S. Birth Certificate or Certificate of Naturalization, Green Card, or Valid U.S. Passport (If you were born outside the United States)..
- Utility Bill (water, electricity, gas, cable/internet, or waste) – must be in the applicant’s name; have the current residence address; and cannot be past due. NO EXCEPTIONS.
If utility bill is in your spouses name, we will accept them with proof of marriage or legal domestic partnership.
- (Military only) DD-214/orders.
NOTE: Additional documents may be requested at the discretion of the application processor.
After a thorough background investigation, the applicant will be contacted by the CCW Coordinator to proceed with firearms training from a Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department approved Training Provider. Applicants should not complete firearms training UNTIL instructed to do so by the CCW unit. Applicants must successfully complete a firearms training course, per Penal Code 26165. Once authorized, firearms training must be completed within 90 days. Failure to complete the training within 90 days will result in their application being withdrawn.
- New Applicants must complete a training course lasting at least 8 hours but not exceeding 16 hours.
- Renewal applicants must complete a training course lasting at least 4 hours.
- The course shall include instruction on firearm safety, firearm handling, shooting technique, and laws regarding the permissible use of a firearm.
- All firearms shall be inspected by the training provider to ensure that it is safe, operable, and in compliance with CA state and federal regulations.
- Applicants must complete and pass a live fire course with each firearm to be listed on the license – LASD allows up to 3 firearms on applicant’s CCW license. When the applicant has completed their firearm training course, you can upload your completed Shooting Proficiency Standards form and Certificate of Completion via the Order Tracker – https://lasd.permitium.com/order_tracker.
Any handgun that the applicant intends to carry and have listed on their CCW license shall meet the below criteria prior to being used during their required firearms training. Failure to follow the criteria or failure to adhere to CA state and federal regulations will result in the immediate suspension and/or revocation of the license.
- The handgun must be registered/DROS to the applicant.
- The handgun must be concealable upon the person or reasonably sized bag or purse.
- The handgun, magazines, and ammunition must be in compliance with applicable CA state and federal laws.
- “AR Pistols” and similar handguns are not permitted.
- Persons who submitted paper applications and do not have an account via the online system, will be required to email their completed Shooting Proficiency Standard form and Certificate of Completion to firstname.lastname@example.org upon request.
- All firearm information, including make, model, serial number, and caliber, must be included and accurate on all documents.
- If the firearm information is illegible, incorrect, or incomplete, the firearm will not be listed on your permit.
- In addition, the caliber of the firearms must all match on all paperwork (AFS, DROS, Shooting Proficiency Standards form and Certificate of Completion and DOJ).
- Failure to provide correct information will delay issuance of your CCW License.
Want to become an LASD approved Training Provider?
Becoming a Training Provider
The CCW Coordinator will contact the applicant by phone to schedule a pick-up date for their license to carry a concealed weapon.
On the day of pickup:
- DO NOT BRING YOUR FIREARMS.
- Persons who submitted an initial application on or before May 3, 2023, have been approved and scheduled a license pick up date, must bring a cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $120.00.
- The increased fee only applies to applications submitted on or after May 4, 2023.
- Pick up location: Sherman Block Building, 4700 West Ramona Boulevard, Monterey Park 91754
- Walk into the lobby and advise security you are there to pick up your CCW license.
CCW Non-Refundable Fees
Fees are subject to change
Application Fee: $43 (Initial and Renewal)
Live Scan (DOJ): *Live Scan Fee varies per vendor (Two-Year)
Initial License: $173 Standard (Two-Year)
DOJ Renewal Fee: $52 Standard (Two-Year)
License Renewal: $34 Standard (Two-Year)
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. You need to have a handgun registered to you in the state of California at the time of application. If you do not, you do not qualify to obtain a CCW.
Yes, you may apply for your renewal CCW license with the LASD. Follow all steps of the renewal process to avoid delay.
The firearm you list on your CCW application must be a handgun that is registered to you in the state of California. “AR Pistol” platforms and similar handgun styles are prohibited. The handgun must also be capable of being concealed upon a person or within a reasonably sized bag/purse. Customization to firearms are permitted as long as it does not violate any State or Federal regulation. There are no caliber restrictions. The ammunition must comply with State and Federal regulations. Magazine capacity is not restricted. However, the use of any magazine with a capacity above 10 rounds is only permitted if the applicant is in legal possession of such magazine.
You may visit Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department CA Online Carry Concealed Weapon Permit Application (permitium.com) and apply online. Applications mailed or dropped off at any Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Stations will not be accepted.
As a temporary measure, in order to process the recent surge in new CCW applications, we will only consider amendments during the license term for the following reasons:
- Change of address or legal name change
- Lost or stolen license
- In the event of a damaged/lost/stolen firearm, a different firearm may be added if that firearm is the only firearm listed on their license. Licensee will need to contact LASD for approval at email@example.com
All other amendments will be processed at the time of application renewal. This is a temporary measure that will allow staff the opportunity to process the large volume of new applications in a timely manner.
If you require an address change, send your updated address with a utility bill in your name (UTILITY BILL cannot be past due, NO EXCEPTIONS).
If you require a name change, send your updated name with the official name change court document.
We are aware of the Supreme Court decision regarding 2nd Amendment. Due to this fact, we are receiving an influx of emails. We will respond to you as soon as possible.
If you would like to email the CCW unit please use the contact form button below.
If you have questions about the CCW process please call: (213) 229-3110